Skip survey header

2021 STEM Excellence Awards - Tasmanian STEM Teacher of the Year for Primary Years

Tasmanian Government’s STEM Excellence Awards

Since 2016 the government has recognised Tasmanians who have excelled in science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) to inspire the next generation of scientists and engineers.
The award
The Tasmanian STEM Teacher of the Year Award for Primary Years (the Award) recognises the achievements of the state's leading science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) teachers for primary years.

Supported by the Tasmanian Government, Inspiring Australia, and University of Tasmania, the Award provide an opportunity to highlight the importance of exemplary STEM education for the growth of Tasmania’s community and economy.

The Award consists of a $2 500 cheque and trophy which will be presented at the Tasmanian STEM Excellence Awards reception on 18 November 2021. This event will showcase the winners’ success to other scientists, government, interested industry representatives, and the media.

Benefits to the winner and applicants
The benefits from participating in the Tasmanian STEM Excellence Awards are numerous.
The awards provide:
  • recognition and exposure for participating companies and individuals
  • opportunities for networking and forming business and research alliances amongst participants, including other industry representatives, academics and teachers
  • a platform for participants to benchmark their products and services
  • a ‘showcase of success stories’ for Tasmanian firms and individuals that are developing innovative STEM research outcomes
  • media exposure for products, participating firms and individuals.
Applications are invited from individuals undertaking primary (Years 1-6) teaching activities who are currently employed in Tasmanian Government and non-government schools and colleges. Teaching must be in the areas of science, technology, engineering or mathematics. Applicants much be registered with the Teachers Registration Board Tasmania. Previous winners of this category are not eligible to apply, but previous applicants are invited to re-apply.  

The judging panel members will be selected on the basis of their knowledge and expertise in STEM primary education.

Selection criteria
The Awards will be presented to a STEM primary teacher who has shown innovation and consistency of best practice in STEM education in the classroom over the 2020-21 financial year. In making their selection, the judging panel will consider the merit of innovation as well as achievements in engaging students in STEM, as highlighted in the questions asked in the application form below.

Other conditions
As a successful recipient of one of the Awards, you may be requested to serve on the judging panel for that award category in the year following your attainment of the award. You may also be asked by the Tasmanian Government, Inspiring Australia, and University of Tasmania to take part in a limited number of STEM engagement events, such as Science Meets Parliament, Innovation Forums, and student outreach programs if available.

Submitting an application
Applications for the 2021 STEM Excellence Awards are to be completed online.

Please note file uploads are limited at 2 files of 50 MB each. For larger files please provide a link accessible via a website, or contact Jenni Klaus via details below to discuss.


Jenni Klaus – Manager, Inspiring Australia
Phone: (03) 6226 2373