Skip survey header
Library of Michigan logo

Michigan Author Award

2021 Michigan Author Award

The Library of Michigan and Michigan Center for the Book are seeking nominations for the 2021 Michigan Author Award. The award recognizes an outstanding published body of literary work by an author who is either from Michigan or has substantial ties to Michigan. The Michigan Author Award was established in 1992 with the intention of recognizing significant Michigan authors with a lifetime achievement award. Over the years, the award has been given to a diverse collection of writers working in a variety of genres and styles. A panel of judges representing the Library of Michigan and Michigan Center for the Book determines the recipient on overall literary merit.

Past Michigan Author Award Winners
Dan Gerber, Charles Baxter, Nancy Willard, Janet Kauffman, Elmore Leonard, Loren Estleman, Gloria Whelan, Jerry Dennis, Janie Lynn Panagopoulos, Thomas Lynch, Nicholas Delbanco, Diane Wakoski, Patricia Polacco, Christopher Paul Curtis, Steve Hamilton, Sarah Stewart, Tom Stanton, Dave Dempsey, John Smolens, Gary Schmidt, Bonnie Jo Campbell, Laura Kasischke, Jim Harrison, David Small, Jacqueline Carey, Doc Fletcher, Beverly Jenkins, Jaimy Gordon, Mitch Albom
2. Nominee must have a minimum of 3 books to be considered. Please list 3 titles, the publishers and publication dates.
Space Cell TitlePublisherPublication Date
Book 1
Book 2
Book 3
4. Supportive Document 1
5. Supportive Document 2
6. Eligibility Criteria of Nominee (Check appropriate criteria)
7. Nominator's Name, Daytime Phone Number and Email Address
Space Cell Name (First/Last)Daytime Phone NumberEmail Address